Search

Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol: The Facts & Consequences




Drinking and driving is something no one should do, ever. Unfortunately, that’s not the case. Approximately 26% of Georgia’s roadway fatalities are associated with driving under the influence. Georgia has some very harsh consequences when facing a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) and hopefully the severe penalties will convince drivers to just avoid it altogether. When someone is facing a DUI offense for the first time in Georgia, they could potentially face the following penalties:


  • 12 months of probation

  • A minimum of $300 in fines plus court costs

  • At least 40 hours of community service

  • Substance abuse counseling

  • Between 1-10 days in jail


The Georgia DUI laws state that if your blood alcohol content (BAC) level is .08% or more then you are officially over the limit and should not be operating a motor vehicle. When facing a DUI for the second offense, the consequences are:


  • 12 months jail time

  • $1,000 fine plus court costs

  • Mandatory sentence of at least 3 days in jail

  • Substance abuse evaluation

  • DUI school

  • Community service (240 hours)


The third DUI offense consequences includes the following:


  • High aggravated misdemeanor

  • 12 months jail time

  • $5,000 fine plus court costs

  • Substance abuse evaluation

  • DUI school

  • 1 year probation


Drivers and victims involved in a DUI accident are far more severely injured than other accidents. There’s a higher number of DUI-associated deaths. Victims of a DUI accident have different claims available to them, typically criminal and civil claims. Knowing the risks and consequences of DUI will hopefully encourage drivers to be safer and take an uber/lyft when having a night on the town where drinking alcohol will be involved.


If you, or someone you know have been involved in an auto accident, call Your Accident Your Money at (888) 766-6398.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All